Do I need a visa to go to Tahiti?

Great news! If you are a holder of an Australian or New Zealand passport, you don't need a visa to visit The Islands of Tahiti (valid for 3 months). 

Countries not subject to a visa requirement for short stays as defined per the decree of December 29th, 2011, in relation with documents and visas required for foreigners’ entry on the territory of French Polynesia (

– Antigua-Barbuda
– Argentina
– Australia (including residents of Norfolk)
– Bahamas
– Barbados
– Bolivia
– Brazil
– Brunei
– Canada
– Chile
– South Korea
– Costa-Rica
– El-Salvador
– United States (including residents of American Samoa and Guam)
– Guatemala
– Honduras
– Israel
– Japan
– Kiribati
– Malaysia
– Northern Mariana Islands
– Marshall Islands
– Mauritius
– Mexico
– Federated States of Micronesia
– Nauru
– Nicaragua
– New Zealand (including residents of Tokelau, Niue and Cook Islands)
– Palau
– Panama
– Paraguay
– Saint-Christophe-et-Niévès
– Salomon Islands
– Seychelles
– Singapore
– Tonga
– Tuvalu
– Uruguay
– Venezuela
– Western Samoa

If you do not hold a passport from these countries above, please contact the nearest French embassy or consulate.

Any visa requirement fall within the competence of these authorities. Please check the relevant websites to ask for an appointment and obtain the list of required documents to attach to your long stay visa request in French Polynesia.  For any additional information in relation to foreigners’ entry and stay in French Polynesia, please contact the “Direction de la Règlementation et du Contrôle de la légalité (DRCL)” by email: